How to change privacy & delete Facebook account on iPhone?

0
461
How to change privacy & delete your Facebook account on iPhone

Delete Facebook Account on iPhone: The never-ending life coupled with social pressure really takes a toll on you. In such situations while some people take social media detox, the other blocks social media completely from their lives. One of the biggest social media platforms at present is Facebook.

With 2.45 billion active users in the third quarter of 2019, Facebook comes with its share of perks and issues. While it provides a great platform to find your old friends and connect with everyone around, it can lead to a breach of data and your privacy being compromised.

Guide to Delete Facebook Account on iPhone

facebook

To avoid all such issues there are various means that you can use which include: 

  1. Deactivating the Facebook account.
  2. Deleting the Facebook account 
  3. Changing the settings of the Facebook account. 

We will deal with each separately, providing reasons for each and stepwise guide on how to take the particular action. 

Deactivating the Facebook Account

Deactivating the Facebook account is a temporary process, you can come back and recover your account.

This process is great for a social media detox, where you can go off the Facebook platform for some time and later return back whenever you feel comfortable. Your Facebook account can be deactivated any number of times.

deactivate manage account

The step by step guide to deactivating the Facebook account is: 

Step1: On your iPhone, open the Facebook iOS app.

Step2: On the bottom right corner is a hamburger icon, which is basically three lines, Tap on that icon. 

Step3: You will see a list of items, Scroll down almost to the end of the list and tap on Settings & Privacy, then further tap on Account Settings.

Step4: Again you will see a list, swipe down and choose the option of Account Ownership and Control.

Step5: You will see a tab for Deactivation and Deletion, click on that tab.

Step6: In the next step you will be provided with two steps: Delete account and Deactivate account. Choose the deactivate account option. 

Step7: You will be asked to confirm your deactivation option and further a list of reasons will be provided to choose from as the reason for your deactivating account. 

Step8: Once all the above processes are done, your account will be deactivated until you log into it again.

As per Facebook, If you deactivate your account, your profile won’t be visible to other people on Facebook and people won’t be able to search for you. Some information, such as messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to others.’

Deleting Facebook Account

delete my account

Unlike the deactivation process of your Facebook account, by deleting the Facebook account permanently, you can’t go back & recover your facebook account.

This process is great for permanently leaving Facebook, or if you want to start a new account by deleting the previous one. Once your account has been deleted you go off the Facebook platform completely. Your Facebook account can be deleted only once.  

The deletion process takes almost 90 days to complete if before that you log into your account, the deletion process is unable to complete and you can recover your data. Until there is full deletion, your account will be visible to your friends.

The step by step guide to deactivating the Facebook account is: 

Step1: On your iPhone, open the Facebook iOS app.

Step2: On the bottom right corner is a hamburger icon, which is basically three lines, Tap on that icon. 

Step3: You will see a list of items, Scroll down almost to the end of the list and tap on Settings & Privacy, then further tap on Account Settings.

Step4: Again you will see a list, swipe down and choose the option of Account Ownership and Control.

Step5: You will see a tab for Deactivation and Deletion, click on that tab.

Step6: In the next step you will be provided with two steps: Delete account and Deactivate account. Choose the delete account option. 

Step7: You will be asked to confirm your deletion option and further a list of reasons will be provided to choose from as the reason for your deleting account. 

Step8: Once all the above processes are done, your account will be deleted and available for login within 90days, after that the Facebook account will not exist at all.

The deletion process takes 90 days to compete, until which your complete delete all of the things you’ve posted, like your photos, status updates or other data stored in backup systems is done. While Facebook is deleting your information, it is inaccessible to other people using Facebook.

How to change your Facebook privacy settings?

Facebook Privacy Settings

To protect your account, from unwanted hacks and steals it is important to change your privacy settings and keep things private only to your friends.

This can be done by following the steps below: 

Step1: On your iPhone, open the Facebook iOS app.

Step2: On the bottom right corner is a hamburger icon, which is basically three lines, Tap on that icon. 

Step3: You will see a list of items, Scroll down almost to the end of the list and tap on Settings & Privacy, then further tap on Privacy Shortcuts.

Step4: There are various options for privacy that will be provided in this tab, you can look at each and accordingly change or modify your privacy settings.

Step5: Once done save your changes by clicking the done button.

Facebook Privacy Settings

Facebook Privacy Settings

Through the privacy settings you can change and modify lots of things like: 

  1. Your Facebook account sharing data: You can choose which apps you want to share your Facebook data with. This will protect your data from being to anyone and everyone. 
  2. Notifications: You can choose to either get or ignore any notification from Facebook games.
  3. Account visibility: You can choose who can see your photos and your information. 
  4. Tagging: You can choose to approve all tagging of photos or posts to your profile. 

Thus, you can make your account private and protected with Facebook privacy settings. 

In Conclusion

Facebook is a great platform for making connections, however, one must know the limits and the extent of usage. To monitor that account deactivation, deletion or changing privacy settings are done. All these are easy to do on iPhone by following the above-given methods.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here