How to Permanently wipe all personal data and erase your iPhone and iPad

0
84
How to Permanently wipe all personal data and erase your iPhone and iPad

It is important that you should wipe all personal data and erase your iPhone and iPad if you are upgrading to a new iPhone or iPad or re-install your iPhone and iPad. If you want to give or sell it away to someone else entirely, it is necessary to wipe and erase all of your data including your photos, messages, and files. It only takes a few steps and a few minutes. You make sure that it is backed up to iCloud or iTunes.

Factory Reset an iPhone and iPad

RESET ALL DATA

You can Factory reset an iPhone and iPad by going to Settings, then General, then Reset and then Erase all content and settings. You need to enter your passcode and Apple ID before the process completes. But there are some steps you should take first:

Back-Up Your iPhone and iPad Before Wiping It

back-up nnow

It is necessary to have an up-to-date backup of your iPhone before wiping it. iCloud automatically creates a backup overnight as long as you are plugged in and on Wi-Fi.

Follow the below steps to back up your iPhone and iPad:

  • It is important that your iPhone and iPad is connected to Wi-Fi. If the iPhone and iPad low on power, you need to plug-in the device as well.
  • Launch Settings from the Home screen.
  • Then tap on the Apple ID banner at the top.
  • Tap iCloud.
  • Scroll down and tap iCloud Backup.
  • Then tap the switch to turn it on.
  • You need to tap Back Up Now.
  • You need to wait for your iPhone backup to complete before moving forward.

If you want to see the last backup, you can check under the Back Up Now option where the date and time are displayed. If you have not done a backup before, you can tap the Back Up Now button and follow the instructions.

Use iTunes To Back Up Your iPhone and iPad

icloud backup

  • You need to plug your device into your PC or Mac using the charging cable.
  • Then click on the iPhone or iPad icon in the top-left corner of iTunes under the Play button.
  • Then Factory-reset your iPhone
  • When you have backed up your iPad or iPhone, you can perform a factory reset.
  • This will completely wipe your device.

Erase All Data From Your iPhone or iPad

erase all data

Follow the below steps to erase all data from your iPhone or iPad:

  • You need to launch the Settings app from the Home screen of your iPhone or iPad.
  • Then tap on General.
  • You need to scroll at the bottom and then tap on Reset.
  • Then tap on erase all data from iPhone.
  • Then tap on Erase Now.
  • You need to enter your Passcode.
  • Then enter your Apple ID password to turn off Activate Lock and remove the device from Find my iPhone.

Reset an iPhone or iPad Remotely

remote managment

If you have lost your iPhone or iPad, you can also remotely wipe your iPhone or iPad remotely. Follow the below steps:

  • Enter your Apple ID and then click Find My iPhone.
  • Then click on the option All Devices.
  • You need to choose the device that you want to erase.
  • Then click Erase iPhone or iPad.

Erase Your iPad by Using a Mac or Windows- Based PC

Follow the below steps to erase your iPad by using a Mac or Windows-based PC:

  • You need to go to www.icloud.com in a web browser and sign in with your Apple ID and password.
  • Then click Find iPhone.
  • You need to re-enter your password if there is a requirement of sign-in.
  • Then a map displays with all of your iOS and Mac OS devices represented with green circles.
  • You need to click All Devices at the top of the screen and choose your iPad from the list.

Then a window appears in the upper-right corner of the browser which has three buttons:

Play Sound

Lost Mode

Erase iPad.

  • Play Sound tells your iPad to make an alert sound. It helps you find your iPad if you are in its general location but do not know exactly where it is.
  • Lost Mode lock down your device without erasing it. You can also display a message on the screen with your phone number so that the person who finds it, can contact you.
  • You need to click Erase iPad to reset your device to the same state as when you purchased it with all of your data erased.
  • When you confirm your choice, the iPad reset if it is connected to the internet. But if it is not connected, it will reset next time when it will connect.

Erase Your iPad by Using an iPhone or Another iPad

You need to ensure that the device you are using and the iPad that you want to reset is signed in to the same Apple ID.

Follow the below steps to erase your iPad using an iPhone or another iPad:

  • You need to launch the Find iPhone app and enter your Apple ID password.
  • Then choose your iPad from the list of devices displayed on the screen.
  • Click Actions at the bottom of the screen.
  • Then tap Erase iPad and confirm your request.
  • The iPad reset if it has access to the Internet. Otherwise, it will reset the next time when it connects.

Reboot (Soft Reset) Your iPhone or iPad

reboot

If your iOS device has crashed or stalled and you want to reset (reboot) it, then you can do so easily without deleting any of your data. You need to press and hold the Home and Power buttons simultaneously for 5-10 seconds.

Other Ways To Reset the iPad

The Reset menu includes various different options if you do not want to clear the iPad entirely.

  • If you want to reset the device because you are having trouble with internet connectivity, you may first try Reset Network Settings. This option clears out any data stored on your specific network. This also helps to clear up the issue without the need to do a full restore.
  • But most people want to erase all content and settings. This option protects you by making sure that all data is off of the iPad which includes information for your iTunes account. If you are selling the iPad, it is necessary to erase all data from iPhone.

Restore an iPhone

restore iphone

If you have erased the content of the phone that you intend to keep using it, you can restore the content to your phone from your backup.

Follow the below steps:

  • Restore an iPhone through iCloud backup
  • You need to go through the setup of your iPhone again from the beginning with the factory reset.
  • You need to start up the iPhone and enter your details if required.
  • When you reach the page, you are asked how you want to ‘Set Up iPhone’.
  • Then you have three options:
  • Set Up as a new iPhone
  • Restore from iCloud Backup
  • Restore from iTunes backup
  • You need to select the iCloud option and enter your iCloud account details if required.
  • Then agree to the terms and conditions.
  • Then your iPhone begins restoring all your data.
  • This takes a while if you have large backups or a slow internet connection.
  • Once the backup is complete, your iPhone will reboot.
  • Restore an iPhone through iTunes backup
  • You need to start up the iPhone and enter your details if required.
  • When you reach the page, you are asked how you want to ‘Set Up iPhone’.
  • Then select Restore from iTunes.
  • You need to connect to iTunes, so plug in your iPhone.
  • Then the window appears on iTunes that provides you the option to restore a backup.
  • Then click continue and your iPhone will be set up automatically.
  • The apps also restored from the iTunes backup.
  • You can also fully reset your iPhone and iPad through iTunes.
  • When you plug in your iPhone and iPad device, you can be able to see a Restore iPhone button which fully reset the device.

You Forget To Back Up Your iPhone Before You Wiped It

If you forget to back up your iPhone or iPad, you can still have the backup:

  • If you find out that you are backing up to iCloud, you get free 5GB of space.
  • You need to go to Settings
  • Then go to iCloud and tap on Storage.
  • You need to wait for few seconds to Manage Storage to show up and tap on that.
  • Here, you see various backups for your iPhone and iPad.

When the wiping process is complete, you can set up as a new device. You can restore from a different backup, or give or sell your device.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here