How to Use Safari’s Private Browsing Mode and Delete Your Web Browsing History

0
334
How to Use Safari's Private Browsing Mode and Delete Your Web Browsing History

safari private browsing history well in iOS version, safari is the default web browsing application. Safari is the most common web browser in Apple phones, iPad, Mac, and MacBook. Since this is the default web browser, most of the content is searched in the safari search engine which has google search too. So, a lot of data is saved in your safari web browser too.

This feature is a useful one like for instance, you are buying gifts or something online for your friends or family members, and you do not want anyone to know or access your devices to look out what you are up to then you can clean your browsing data.

How to use Safari Private Browsing Mode:

Safari's Private Browsing Mode

Private Browsing enables limits on using Safari by preventing the browser from creating any history of the pages you browse. It also stops the AutoFill option to collect any information you are surfing on safari like websites usernames and passwords and remember it, and any tabs you open will not be stored in iCloud.

Safari will automatically prevent cross-site tracking and request sites of third-party content providers to not track you as rule. This occurs when you browse privately. Private browsing helps delete cookies when you close many associate tabs; it also stops sites from modifying any information stored in your iOS device.

Read More: What Is Cached Data And How To Clear It?

To enable Private Browsing in Safari, follow these steps:

  1. First Open Safari browser in your iPhone, iPad or Mac device.
  2. Click on the “Pages” icon.
  3. Now click on “Private” button. You will now see how the interface will turn into a dark grey colour.
  4. Now you need to tap on “+” button to open tab privately.
  5. When you are done with browsing on your Safari you need to return to the open tabs view.
  6. You need to individually swipe any tabs that are open and then close those tabs.
  7. Now click on “Private” icon again. Your private browsing will be now cleared from all the saved memory.

Deleting Safari Private Browsing History:

Deleting Your Browsing History

When you delete your existing or all browsing history on any of your iOS devices, the same data gets deleted on every device if you relate to your iCloud account on every iOS device. It also deletes all the web cookies and web-related data from all devices, but AutoFill information does not change.

For deleting your browsing history there are two-ways to do it. Following are the steps to delete your browsing data using first method:

Method 1:

  1. First click on Safari and open a tab in it.
  2. Go to the bottom of the screen and click on to “Bookmarks” icon.
  3. Now take the cursor to the top of the screen and click on the tab’s clock symbol.
  4. Browser’s History will open where all your web activity and cookies are saved.
  5. If you want to delete specific web cookies and activity, then on the left side click on the square box and one-by-one click those individual logs you want to clear it.
  6. After clicking on it you will see delete option appear in red color. Click on that deleted option and your specific web data is deleted.
  7. If you wish to delete entire browsing history, then click on the “clear” option.
  8. The following preference will pop up-“The last hour”, “Today”, “Today and Yesterday”, and “All Time”. Click on one option and accordingly your data will be deleted from history.

This is the first method which is outlined above and that allows you to either clear specific data and cookies, limit on clearing your history data to certain time frame or delete all the existing and past data with cookies permanently from the browsing history of all devices together connected with iCloud.

Now we will see second way or method of clearing or deleting browsing data of history through following steps:

Method 2:

  1. Open Safari and go to the settings application.
  2. After clicking on “settings” a list will open.
  3. Scroll down that list till “Clear History and Website Data” appears.
  4. Now click on “Clear History and Website Data” and all the data will be cleared automatically from your history.

This is the second way of deleting your web browsing history. It directly wipes out all the data and cookies from your web browser. This method is also called a “nuke” method which directly wipes out all the past and current data and cookies and completely empties your web browser.

So, these are the two ways in which you can delete your web browsing data. It clears on your specific device web browser that you are currently using it.

If you are logged in the iCloud account and synced with all the Apple devices than it will delete all the other devices browsing history too.

For that, you need to have iCloud account and logged in, in all your Apple devices. If you want to delete or clear web history of device then logout from the iCloud account of other devices otherwise you will lose your browsing history from all Apple devices.

Read More: iPhone & iPad: How To Clear Cache

Conclusion:

For privacy purposes, you can also use incognito mode for privately surfing on safari browser. You will notice when you are surfing certain websites, an ad pops up or they ask you to register or ask few questions to you as feedback for websites. Well, you need to be very careful as this consumes your private data and personal information too.

In this technologically advanced world, there are lot of privacy issues which consumers face on day-to-day basis. Sometimes, you are not even aware of hidden cookies until the notification pops up and if it does still you click on “okay” button and surf those sites. Well, all these hidden cookies are nothing but hacking of your private data which is very important to protect it. Incognito protects your data.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here